National Merit Semifinalists 2022

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the names of the semifinalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program. Seven Blake seniors have earned semifinalist designation. These academically talented high school seniors now have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $30 million that will be offered next spring. About 95 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and more than half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

Congratulations to Blake's semifinalists:

Wyatt Dayhoff
Dennis Eum
Daria Haner
Lily Liu
Gabriel Mendoza
Skylar Wang
Leon Xue

Blake also congratulates 18 members of its senior class who have just been commended by the National Merit Scholarship Program in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Although commended students do not continue in the competition for National Merit scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for special scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses. Blake’s commended students are:

Lucio Bollettieri
Nina Bush 
Kelly Dayton 
Zoe Florida 
Charles Florine 
Alana Foster-Smith 
Cole Herron 
Ishan Khurana 
Ty Kickhaefer 
Nikko Kim 
Frederick Loew 
Shreya Mohan 
Noor Naseer 
Joshua Park 
Keaton Rannow 
Maggie Seidel 
Carly Shoemate 
Jonathan Wu