Blake Debate Minnesota State High School League

Blake’s 2019-20 debate team includes more than 60 members ranging from eighth to twelfth grade, and their season so far has been a series of stunning successes, including a state championship in public forum for team members Jack Johnson '20 and Morgan Swigert '20. Blake debaters have traveled to 18 tournaments and won 49 team awards and 46 individual speaker awards. The team has won seven tournaments, where the competition has included up to 180 teams from dozens of schools. Other highlights include:

State champions Johnson and Swigert are currently the top-ranked varsity public forum team in the nation. The two won the Presentation High School Voices Invitational in San Jose, California, and the Glenbrooks Invitational in Northbrook, Illinois.

Alessandro Perri '21 and Swigert won the Minneapple Invitational at Apple Valley High School.

Keaton Rannow '22 and Grace Homan '21 won the Badgerland Invitational in Madison, Wisconsin.

In addition, 13 Blake teams competed at the Minnesota JV/Novice State Tournament. All seven of Blake’s JV teams and five of the six novice teams qualified for elimination rounds. And Blake took the state championship title in both JV (Wyatt Dayhoff '22 and Joshua Enebo '21) and novice (Davin Khan '24 and Elizabeth Terveen '23) public forum. The team had six of the top 10 individual speakers in JV and five of the top 10 individual speakers in novice. 

Two of Blake debaters, Johnson and Adams, are also members of the Team USA and the USA Development Team, respectively. Adams won the Delores Taylor Arthur World Schools Tournament in New Orleans with the USA Development Team.

Public forum teams will continue to compete at invitations and national championship tournaments throughout the spring. Johnson and Adams will continue to compete with USA Debate. And, Blake will compete at upcoming national and international tournaments in World Schools Debate. The team is invited to debate in Taiwan at the Taiwan American school this March. Perri and Skylar Wang '22 will represent the Blake.